History‎ > ‎

Trophy history

Bere Ferrers Spring Flower Show Cups and their Histories

Name of Cup                                     Date             History

The Bradford Challenge Bowl                 1984             Given by Mrs P Horn

The Crookshank Trophy
                       1948              Given by Rev Crookshank 

The Fenton Cup
                                  1949             Given by Fenn & Hexton 

The Gazette Cup
                                1981             Given by The Tavistock Gazette 

The Bennett Memorial Cup
                   1994             Given by Mr Argles 

The Bere Ferrers Social Club Bowl
         1949             Given by Bere Ferrers Social Club 

The Crocker Williams Cup
                    1975             Given by Crocker Williams, Market Salesman, Bristol 

The Frampton Cup
                              1948             Given by Mr F Frampton, Station Master, Bere Ferrers 

The Doris Friend Memorial Bowl
            1975             Given by Mr A W Friend (Doris Friend was a local Parish flower

The HMS Plate
                                   1989             Given by Mr & Mrs Snell (Fred Grinstead always called their 
                                                                                                            daughter HMS (Heather May Snell)) 

The Reg Collom Cup
                            2004            Given By The Family 

The Domestic Challenge Cup
                1975             Given By Mr D Hughes 

The Plumb Cup
                                   1972             Given By Mr H H Plumb 

The Challenge Cup
                              1990             Given By Mr M Hughes 

The Joe Pengelly Cup                           1972             Given By Mr Joe Pengelly BBC 

The Domestic Children’s Cup                 1975             Given By Mr M Hughes 

The Col Colville Cup                            1972              Given By Col Colville, Launceston 

The Shirley Wakefield-Smith Cup           2002              Given Mr Wakefield-Smith and Family 

The Dick Jackson                                1989               Given by Mrs V Jackson 
Young Growers Trophy 

The Barbara Grinsted Memorial Plate
    1983               Given by Mr F Grinsted 

The Fyffes Munro Cup                          1948               Given By Geo Munro, Covent Garden Flower Salesman 

The Somers Gibson Cup
                      1972               Given By Somers & Gibson Flower Salesman, Manchester 

The Coronation Cup
                           1972                Presented by Mr C D Pratt 

The Fred Grinsted Trophy
                    1991                Fred was a long serving Show Secretary 

The Page Challenge Cup
                     1949                Presented by J & E Page, Flower Salesman, Covent Garden 

The Bere Ferrers Challenge Cup
           1948                Presented by The Bere Ferrers Recreation Club 

The Elsie Hall Plate
                           1984                Presented by Mrs Barbara Grinsted’s Mother 

The Marjorie Statton Cup
                   1979                 Presented By Mrs M Statton 

The Agnes Jury Cup
                           1972                Presented By Mr Len Jury 

Researched by Show Hon Treasurer John T R Snell.